Stirrings Still


Illustrated by LOUIS LE BROCQUY

Stirrings Still is a last testimony of Beckett's creative vitality. His unmatched power of endurance still masquerading as nothing at all.” —Harvard Book Review

Published by Foxrock Books in collaboration with OR Books

Buy This Book


Paperback: $9/£6
add to cart

FAQs and shipping information

About the Book

By the winner of the 1969 Nobel Prize for Literature

A dense inner monologue, Stirrings Still was written by Beckett in 1987 and 1988, when he had become increasingly reflective about his life. It portrays, in Beckett’s spare style, a “consciousness” exploring a “self,” faced with uncertainties about its own existence. Stirrings Still is a spellbinding work, full of a sense of farewell. It is dedicated to Beckett’s longtime friend and publisher Barney Rosset.

Samuel Beckett (1906-1989) was a playwright, poet and novelist whose work has had a formative influence on 20th century culture. Born in Foxrock, Ireland, he moved to Paris after an abortive attempt at being an academic. Years of penury and obscurity followed, during which time he consorted with artists such as James Joyce, Alberto Giacometti, and Marcel Duchamp. During World War II, he was an active member of the French Resistance, and after the war he was honored with the Croix de Guerre and the Médaille de la Résistance. In 1954, Beckett’s play “Waiting for Godot” was introduced to an unsuspecting America by Barney Rosset at Grove Press; Beckett became a signature author of the fledgling company. Although he was highly regarded by a small circle of literary aficionados, it was not until Beckett won the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1969 (he famously gave away the prize money that accompanied it) that his work began to reach a wider audience. His writing is characterized by meticulousness and a ceaseless fascination with the puzzle of fitting words to actions, and with the simultaneous impossibility and necessity of doing so that marks the human condition.

44 pages • Paperback ISBN 978-1-682190-11-1 • E-book 978-1-682190-12-8